ally bank

> Current Rate: 1.250%
> Current Fees: N / A
Updated November 18, 2017
Visit Website
Overall Rating - 4.7 out of 5
15 total reviews.
Website Rating - 4.8 out of 5
14 total reviews.
App Rating - 3.9 out of 5
10 total reviews.
Interest Rate Rating - 4.2 out of 5
14 total reviews.
Customer Service Rating - 4.5 out of 5
14 total reviews.


Pretty good for an online only bank by Sam Johnston on February 20, 2016

Overall Rating Website Rating App Rating
Interest Rate Rating Customer Service Rating

Review

I've been with Ally for about 4 years now and I must say, I have not had any major problems. I have a few free checking and savings accounts and I have never worry about money missing from my accounts from fees unlike other major banks who just go in your account and take whatever fees they want. I don't have to baby sit my accounts to make sure nothing has been taken. That is pretty much the only thing I am looking for in a bank these days. Trust. The only thing I do not like about Ally is that they do not have ATM's. You must use non Ally ATM's and that causes non-bank ATM fees. Ally reimburses these fees of course, but I still find it to be a hassle to be charged in the first place. Other than that this is a good bank with minor upkeep.

Pros

Trustworthy. Free checking and savings.

Cons

No Ally ATM's are available.

Competitive Rates and Great Customer Service by Brian on February 19, 2016

Overall Rating Website Rating App Rating
Interest Rate Rating Customer Service Rating

Review

I have been a holder of Ally Bank CD's since 2010. I have never had a problem with the bank and highly recommend them to savers who are looking to maximize their yield while also being insured by the FDIC. Ally Bank is a solid bank that is stable, and you will not have to worry about the Bank going bankrupt or becoming insolvent. The rates are extremely competitive and are some of the highest in the nation when it comes to short term CDs or online money market accounts. Even though 1-1.5% may seem low, relative to other banks it is a great deal. From a customer service perspective, you never have to wait to talk to a representative, and you can even do it via the online chat feature on the website. Even when you need to renew a CD or cancel a CD, it takes less than 5 minutes (including wait time for a rep) to do. And if you want to transfer money to a bank account like BofA, you can transfer the money yourself via the online portal and get access to your money in a day.

Pros

Cons

Ally Online Savings Separates Itself from the Rest by Andy on January 28, 2016

Overall Rating Website Rating Interest Rate Rating Customer Service Rating

Review

When I saw that an Ally Online Savings account offered a 1.0 percent interest rate, I jumped for joy. I knew of no other bank that came close to that mark. The fact that I was able to sign up entirely online made it even better, and the initial start up was convenient and easy. You can only use 6 transactions per cycle, or so I am told. The truth is, I don't touch this account, and I just let the interest rate work its magic. After all, this is a savings account. If you need to touch your money frequently, open a checking account at your local bank. So I have no complaints about the transaction limit. All in all, the website is clear and helpful. I would recommend this online savings account to anyone who is looking for an exceptional interest rate in today's economy.

Pros

-High interest rate
-Easy to use website
-24/7 online access

Cons

-Completely online, no brick and mortar
-I've heard that phone support is poor
-Limited transactions per cycle

A leader of online banking by Steve M on January 28, 2016

Overall Rating Website Rating App Rating
Interest Rate Rating Customer Service Rating

Review

I really like Ally Bank. I think it is one of the best banks out there. The interest rate is way better than any brick and mortar bank. There is still room for improvement in the interest rate and the good thing about Ally is that they will raise it when they can. I only rate them lower on customer service because of how long it took to open up an account. After that, however, it was very easy setting up my account. The mobile app is very clean and easy to use. I tend to use the website more often.

Pros

High interest, easy interface, no fees

Cons

Not quick to make an account, transferring money into it at first is cumbersome

Great alternative to brick banks by jesse sarver on January 26, 2016

Overall Rating Website Rating App Rating
Interest Rate Rating Customer Service Rating

Review

This is a great bank for someone who wants to get more out of their money. Although, not a lot more. I am saving money and wanted to have it earn interest sitting in a bank but regular banks don't give you much interest for your money. Ally has one of the highest interest rates for savings accounts. They also have great customer service. When ever I call them they take care of my question or problem the best that they can. I love to earn a little extra for my money sitting in their bank. That's why this bank sits above all the rest for me.

Pros

higher interest rates
great customer service
atm refunds

Cons

no building to go to

ALLY IS AWESOME by Phil on January 26, 2016

Overall Rating Website Rating App Rating
Interest Rate Rating Customer Service Rating

Review

I have been using a saving account with Ally for years now. I have not one time had an issue that couldn't be fixed with a simple phone call. Ally has the most competitive Yields and top notch customer service. I would recommend this bank to anyone. The online feature with Ally ensures you get better rates. The sire is super easy to use and navigate. Ally is so on top of things that come tax time or any time you need a statement it just shows up. No asking no calling. Ally is an AWESOME BANK

Pros

. high yeilds
. no minimum fees
. no banks so low rates

Cons

. have to draw money via web

Ally by Ian on January 26, 2016

Overall Rating

Review

Right now, savings rates are low. However, why lock in your money in a CD that generates 1.2-1.3% interest for a fixed amount of time when you can have your money stored in something more liquid. Ally Bank's 1.00% interest rate is the best option available. With no fees, the ability to withdraw money whenever and wherever you want, and no minimum monthly contributions, the savings account at Ally Bank is easily the top-choice when it comes to banking. Early in 2016, we have seen Wall Street hit some 52-week lows. Again, although it isn’t high, a guaranteed 1% is perfect to keep some extra cash safe and away from the volatility that analysts predict for 2016. Keep your money safe at Ally Bank! It’s a great place to bank.

Pros

- Interest rate is one of the best
- No minimum contributions to account
- Awesome online services like savings calculator
- Great customer service
- Easy to withdraw funds

Cons

I can't think of any!

Pure Affection for Ally by Deb on January 26, 2016

Overall Rating Website Rating App Rating
Interest Rate Rating Customer Service Rating

Review

I cannot rave about Ally Bank enough. I was skeptical at first to sign up with an Internet bank. However, a friend convinced me that it was the right thing to do. I have been ever so pleased with Ally Bank. The website makes doing everything a snap. It is very well laid out and easy to navigate. I especially like the ease with which I can view all of my accounts and what they are accruing. I love how I can do my banking all from home. No more drives to the bank and no more lines and no more awkward forms to fill out. The mobile app is also excellent. I find cashing checks quite convenient. I would highly recommend this bank to anyone. It has totally revolutionized my whole banking experience. I feel safe and secure using this service. I have never had any security problems and any customer service queries through the site I have issued have always been responded to quickly and efficiently and, most importantly, friendly!

Pros

Excellent usability on the website and app
No more going to the bank in person
Ease of checking
Banking is more enjoyable
Good overview of accounts and savings at first glance

Cons

Wish the rates were a little higher

Love this online bank! by Karen on January 23, 2016

Overall Rating Website Rating App Rating
Interest Rate Rating Customer Service Rating

Review

I am so glad I've moved my savings account to this online bank! The interest rates are so much higher than traditional banks and they refund all ATM fees automatically, no matter which ATM I use in the country. I have also used their customer service, which is available 24 x 7 and they are always professional and helpful.

Pros

Interest rates better than any other bank
Refund of all ATM fees
Great customer service

Cons

Mobile app could be a little more robust.

Ally Bank - Money Market Success by Desmond Sessions on January 18, 2016

Overall Rating Website Rating App Rating
Interest Rate Rating Customer Service Rating

Review

I believe this bank is best utilized for online banking. I rely on my smartphone and my laptop to stay updated with notices and my account balances. I really enjoy the reality that I don't have to "go to the bank" anymore.

When I need help, I call customer service on the phone and they are helpful and unbiased.

They are patient, knowledgeable about the products, and the reps speak English and Spanish so it helps me because I have Hispanic family members. My favorite part about Ally bank is the debit card which connects me to my money and is easily spendable because the liquidity of my account.

Pros

The no fee ATM feature is neat and the interest rates are the best in comparison of the other financial vehicles.

A really great benefit is no minimum balances.

Cons

Finding ATMs and paying ATM fees is somewhat annoying although Ally reimburses some of these transactions to a certain limit.

Ally Bank is the right fit for me by Daniel Pennell on January 17, 2016

Overall Rating Website Rating Interest Rate Rating Customer Service Rating

Review

I started looking for an online savings account in order to generate some amount of interest, no matter how small, on money that would otherwise just be sitting in my checking account. A few quick minutes of searching brought me to Ally Bank, it was highly recommended and well reviewed. I compared their interest rate, 1.00%, to some of my other options and it was an easy choice.

Setting up direct deposit from my current checking account was smooth and easy, but Ally Bank really showed its strengths when I tried setting up a monthly withdrawal from my savings account to an IRA. For whatever reason, I just couldn't figure out how to set it up, so I called Ally customer service.

Now, mind you, I was expecting an ordeal here. I thought I'd have to wait ten minutes or more, figured I'd be dealing with some idiot on the other end of the line. I couldn't have been more wrong.

Ally's superb customer service was quick and knowledgeable, in a matter of minutes I had set up an automatic transfer from my online savings account to my IRA, and I couldn't be happier with the experience.

Pros

-Great interest rate
-Helpful customer service
-Speed in processing deposits/withdrawals

Cons

-Lack of a physical location

Straight Forward Bank by Jeff on January 17, 2016

Overall Rating Website Rating Interest Rate Rating Customer Service Rating

Review

I've been with Ally now for about 2 years. I've used customer service now twice for a few questions i have had. Both times they were answered by a knowledgeable rep and there was no waiting period. The interest rate is one of the highest I have seen when i was looking to open a savings account. Since i opened the account it has been nothing but smooth sailing. There were no issues withdrawing money or depositing money. Very simple and easy to use

Pros

High Interest Rate
Ease of use
Good customer service

Cons

None that i know of

Ally Bank is by far best bank out there! by Eric W on January 10, 2016

Overall Rating Website Rating App Rating
Interest Rate Rating Customer Service Rating

Review

I have been with ally bank now for a few years and i wish i would have known about them earlier. the bank is amazing. they have no fees at all period. if you use an ATM that is not in network, they will refund those ATM fees. the savings and checking interest rates you receive are really high for a bank. the mobile app is great and is easy to stay up to date with you account and transactions posted. customer service is amazing. you always can get through to a representative quickly and they are very pleasant to deal with. i highly recommend this bank to anyone!

Pros

no fees
free atm withdrawals
high interest rate return on accounts
great customer service
ability to do your banking online and not have to go in a brick and mortar bank
trustworthy, dependable, and are always out to make sure you are a happy customer

Cons

absolutely no cons. i love my bank and i have no intention of switching.

Great bank by Bthor457 on January 10, 2016

Overall Rating Website Rating Interest Rate Rating Customer Service Rating

Review

I have been using Ally Bank for over 10 years now and have not been disappointed. They have fantastic rates - usually the best in the business. I was at first a little anxious about having an online savings account and having access to my funds. Any fears I had were quickly dispensed. I can easily and rapidly transfer or withdraw money from my account anytime. I have had the opportunity to contact customer service in the past and they are the best. I did not have to go through a myraid of number pushing commands to get to a representative. I actually spoke to a real person with a great personality and was extremely helpful and friendly.

Pros

Cons

Great rates, great service by Spencer Uresk on January 10, 2016

Overall Rating Website Rating App Rating
Interest Rate Rating Customer Service Rating

Review

My wife and I created joint accounts here after we could never get her added to my Capital One 360 account.

The rates are great, customer service is fast and helpful, and the website and mobile apps are easy to use.

I wish their checking account offered better rates, and I wish the mobile app on iOS would use the fingerprint reader, but other than that, I'm pretty happy with Ally.

Pros

- Good interest rates
- Decent website and app
- Good customer service

Cons

- Checking rate isn't great
- Mobile app doesn't use fingerprint reader for easier sign-in