Citibank e-Savings

> Current Rate: 0.010%
> Current Fees: N/A
Updated January 10, 2016
Visit Website
Overall Rating - 3.9 out of 5
8 total reviews.
Website Rating - 4.2 out of 5
6 total reviews.
App Rating - 4.2 out of 5
5 total reviews.
Interest Rate Rating - 3.8 out of 5
6 total reviews.
Customer Service Rating - 4.7 out of 5
6 total reviews.


Fast and easy by Philip on October 17, 2006

Overall Rating

Review

Easy set up and a nice rate. What else do you need?

Pros

Cons

Deceptive by eroneous on August 28, 2007

Overall Rating

Review

I signed up with a teaser rate of 5% but after a few months it lowered to 4.25%. Yes, I know it\'s a variable rate account, but I think they are deceptive, and here\'s why. New accounts are still being sold at 5%. So it\'s basically a teaser rate, but after you\'ve been a customer for a few months, they reduce it down even though they offer the high rate to brand new customers. In the same period of time, ING Direct\'s interest rate has remained a constant 4.5%, not to mention the fact that they don\'t have hidden requirements like Citibankonline does. With Citibank you have to meet certain requirements or you get charged a monthly fee. Customer support was terrible, a call center in India. Recommend staying away from citibank, go with ING

Pros

Cons

a great option for a student who is always on the go by Alison on January 23, 2016

Overall Rating Website Rating App Rating
Interest Rate Rating Customer Service Rating

Review

It's hard enough to make your way through college, but when you are constantly on the go like I am, you end up paying a lot of international atm fees. However Citibank is affiliated with many banks abroad with such a great interest rate, it was so hard to pass up. The customer service made it even better and easier to set up my account

Pros

easy to set up
great for people abroad

Cons

the interest rate could be slightly better to match the competition

Statements by Brian Hill on January 23, 2016

Overall Rating Website Rating Interest Rate Rating Customer Service Rating

Review

What I mean by statements is not your bank statement. It is the statements that Citibank e-savings claim. I was told that my interest would be one amount but it is whatever they want to make it. I was told 3% but I only get .25% APY. I will state that my local Citibank has very friendly and professional staff. They seem to explain situations better than when I call the headquarters. It also appears that the company does not have all the same rules across the United States, and it differs. Which to me that should be stated.

Pros

My local staff are friendly and helpful.

Cons

I do not like the fact that they do not provide proper information for every location.

Citi E-savings by David R. on January 17, 2016

Overall Rating Website Rating App Rating
Interest Rate Rating Customer Service Rating

Review

Citi does a very nice job for their customers especially Citigold. Its a premium service and requires a high balance relationship with the bank, but you do get a lot for it. I travel internationally a lot, and citi credit cards and online bank has been fantastic for me. highly recommended.

Pros

Foreign transactions
Foreign currency
Citigold relationship

Cons

mobile website is just ok

E-savings is nice by David on January 10, 2016

Overall Rating Website Rating App Rating
Interest Rate Rating Customer Service Rating

Review

I've been a long time Citibank customer as well as other large banks. Overall i've probably been the happiest with Citi among the large banks. Their customer service has always been supportive when issues have come up.

Pros

Great customer service, great products.

Cons

n/a

Good account for the times by Joe on January 10, 2016

Overall Rating Website Rating App Rating
Interest Rate Rating Customer Service Rating

Review

While these days interest are still next to nothing, the Citi e savings account is very good. The interest rate it offers is compatible with others out there. What makes it reslly gold is the ease of the website and how accesible it is.

Pros

Very accessible and easy to use

Cons

Decent Bank, Good Service. by Reese on January 10, 2016

Overall Rating Website Rating App Rating
Interest Rate Rating Customer Service Rating

Review

I have been using Citibank for around three years and have been using e-savings services with them for just about two years. The rates are around what they are at other major banks in regards to the accounts, I personally believe that the rates should be somewhat higher. The bank offers great customer service via their website live chat. You can have many of your questions resolved online in a very timely manner. The website itself is well designed and easy to navigate. The mobile app is sometimes glitch for me, it can crash at times. I do not know if it is because of my phone, or if it is because of a problem with the app. Overall I have been satisfied by the bank and it is worth a look if you are in the market for opening a savings account or other services.

Pros

Good Customer Service, Great Live Chat, Good Website Layout

Cons

Rates on saving are not ideal, App can glitch at times